This project is read-only.

Password cell

Jun 10, 2009 at 5:04 PM

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie with SourceGrid, which looks very powerfull.

I need cells in which users can input passwords (like a textbox with UseSystemPasswordChar set to True). I couldnt find a built-in way to do that. Is there one? If not, could someone point me in the right direction to implement such a cell type?

Thanks!

Jun 10, 2009 at 5:45 PM

The most simple way to do it (in my oppinion) is just to do like example 3 shows for a progress bar, but instead of putting in a progress bar control, you put in a textbox control.

grid[y,x] = new cell( );

TextBox tb = new Textbox();
tb.Passwordchar = '*';
grid.LinkedControls.Add ( new SourceGrid.LinkedControlValue (tb, new Position (y,x));

There may be an eaier way, but it worked for me.

Derek

Jun 10, 2009 at 6:43 PM

Thanks Derek, I didnt get that you could add any control in a cell like this, it works like a charm!

Jun 10, 2009 at 9:14 PM

Actually I have one issue. I can't manage to make the column header of the LinkedControl to not scroll. I want the entire first row to be always visible, but the following code only keeps the headers of the first two rows visible:

grid.BorderStyle = BorderStyle.FixedSingle;
            grid.Redim(10, 3);

grid.FixedRows = 1;

grid[0, 0] = new SourceGrid.Cells.ColumnHeader("String");
            grid[0, 1] = new SourceGrid.Cells.ColumnHeader("DateTime");
            grid[0, 2] = new SourceGrid.Cells.ColumnHeader("CheckBox");
            for (int r = 1; r < 10; r++)
            {
                grid[r, 0] = new SourceGrid.Cells.Cell("Hello " + r.ToString(), typeof(string));
                grid[r, 1] = new SourceGrid.Cells.Cell(DateTime.Today, typeof(DateTime));
                grid[r, 2] = new SourceGrid.Cells.Cell();
                TextBox tb = new System.Windows.Forms.TextBox();
                tb.PasswordChar = '*';